M Y S T I C�� T A C O�� S T A N D

Nice People Get Paid Back First ... July 27, 2004

today was a stressful day. forever burned into my memory is me waving a dollar under my frustrated roommate's nose, telling him he can keep it if he wants because that's all i've got. you should've seen him. i thought he was going to try and eat my face off.

so i finally got all my shit moved out of my apartment today. to make a long story longer, i hated my roommates, particularly the one called mike. here's how it happened. first, there were four friends living together. then, one of them had to move out because he was in the military and got transferred elsewhere. i just happened to be in the market for an apartment, and the remaining three friends just happened to be in the market for a roommate. also, i kind of knew one of them from high school, and she was alright. so. when i moved in, i was basically "the outsider", at least, that's how they treated me. also, the apartment was disgustingly trashed when i came in. one of my first moves was to start cleaning up the common areas once a week. i never complained. i never made anyone help me. i was basically doing it because i liked it cleaner like that. after a time, they began to EXPECT it out of me. and of course, i was just doing it because i wanted to, not because i AGREED to do it or because i was getting anything out of it. but still, occasionally i would skip a week if i was sick or busy, and that was when MIKE started lecturing me. he had for some reason decided that it was my duty to clean up the common areas that the four of us used, and to do it all by myself. he was somehow totally convinced that ALL the mess in the livingroom, hallway, bathroom and kitchen were only mine, never HIS, never LYNNE's, never MATT's. what's worse was that since i was the outsider, the other two roommates just let him act like this to me. they never once spoke up and informed him that the mess he was yelling at me about was actually theirs. this mike bastard always treated me like i was some sort of bad child who had neglected to do the chores her daddy had assigned her. anyways, i owe this roommate some moola for various things, all apartment related, of course. (not like he'd willingly loan me money.) let's see, i owe lynne $7 from last month's utilities (i completely ran out of moola...there was really nothing with which to pay), he wants me to pay him $15 for "cleaning supplies" (i cleaned the apartment weekly from the time i moved in there and by myself i bought several rounds of cleaning supplies already... so no, fuck off), and then i will owe him $30 for this month's various other utilities. he knows i have no money, and before i was moved out he was pressuring me to beg this money out of my parents and leave it for him. well. to tell the truth, doing something like that would probably lead my father to shout at me for at least an hour. i personally didn't feel like going through any shit in order to pay a roommate who's always treated me like his personal house cleaning slave. so my mom did give me some money so i could buy some paint to fix some spots in the bathroom where i accidentally spattered hair dye on the wall. there was enough leftover to pay the $7 debt to lynne and have one dollar to spare. i was glad to pay lynne off. she may annoy the shit out of me for various reasons and i assume i do the same for her, but at least she's always been able to control herself in my presence. she hasn't ever acted as if she expected me to clean up after her. being nice to my face was a good move on her part, no matter how much she might loath me deep down. well, i made sure to pay her while mike was watching. in fact, i took out my roll of ones while standing in front of mike. i could see him focus on it like a dog focuses on a fresh slab of meat. i turned and walked over to lynne and calmly paid her. he hurried over and demanded his. i looked at him and tried to explain that i simply didn't have the money. he got kinda shitty so i waved my last dollar in his face. "here," i said in all seriousness, "if you want it you can have it. it's my last dollar. that's all i HAVE, mike." he refused it. he turned his nose up at it. so i stuffed it back in my pocket and said, "well, i'll pay you later." he made a snort which obviously communicated that he hardly believed me. funny, because it was never ME who was late paying the bills. it was lynne who forgot to pay the electric bill with the money we gave her and instead used it as spending money for her spring break vacation, not ME. in fact, until that day, i had never been late paying the regular bills or even owed a roommate money, and yet, he was CONVINCED i was a deadbeat. "well," i said in a voice of severe agitation, "i don't care what you THINK, i always pay my bills." then i left and slammed the door behind me without leaving any information to tell him where i can be reached.

since my name was on none of the bills and i was a subleaser (the office only had my name, nothing else), he has no way to get ahold of me and DEMAND that i pay him.

don't get me wrong. i will pay because, obviously, i used the utilities this last month, but i think he deserves to squirm for being such a jackass.

- previous - next -

- the old - profile - leave a note - contact -

DiaryLand makes me put this link here.
Please click on it before they cut off another one of my fingers!