M Y S T I C�� T A C O�� S T A N D

Escaping the Thought Zombies, Decapitating Barbie & Friends ... November 28, 2005

my my my, i've been going through all the old entries, deleting a whole lotta shit in an effort to help diary land's servers to stop freaking out over the massive files that used to make up my long winded, badly spelled journal.

have you ever tried to clean out a notebook of poetry or drawings that you created in your distant past? well, if you have, then you know what i'm talking about. not only is there the dilemma over which parts are worth keeping and which better belong at the bottom of your trash can, but there's also this whole thing about how all that previous insanity that you're supposed to have already worked your way through comes clawing it's way out of that shallow grave in your subconscience mind and tries to bite you on the ass.

things have been pretty good for me in the last couple months. for much of my life, i wasn't able to feel anything resembling a good emotion. no love. no happy. no joy. instead, i could feel nothing, and that was at my better moments. but for a while now, i've been feeling happy. it's the longest run of good or good/neutral days i ever remember having.

ah, but happy and sane are simply not interesting. well, bare with me, my pretties, for i am currently working on what i hope will become an interesting rant on the nature of the Barbie doll's influence on culture, how the ideals that Barbie embodied were good, how they were bad, and how they eventually lead to phenomena such as the popularity of the BRATZ and MY SCENE dolls amongst 4 to 10 year old girls, and also how the ideals that BRATZ and MY SCENE embody may cause a reversal of the few good changes in how women thought about themselves that the Barbie helped cement into the psyches of an entire generation.

yeah. i might write that, or not, but if i do, then...i might post here if you ask me, pretty pretty please with sprinkles on top.

- previous - next -

- the old - profile - leave a note - contact -

DiaryLand makes me put this link here.
Please click on it before they cut off another one of my fingers!